Why I Became a Software Developer

Story of a Techie

ยท

3 min read

Why I Became a Software Developer

In The Beginning...

begin.jpg

Early Childhood

My childhood passion has always been problem-solving. I started to wonder whether it might be because I'm the oldest child in my family. Due to this motivation I developed a liking for banking because the industry back then was solving a lot of problems.

As I grew, my desire to make things function intensified. One time, I tried to fix my father's DVD collection, but I ruined it instead. Growing up in Sub-Saharan Africa, there were many games and activities that made us build things. I recalled going to the dumpsite with my favorite pants to collect cans, lids, etc. to build various games and items, like a drivable car, a phone, a flying plane (made of paper), and so on.

Transitioning to Adulthood

When I eventually learned what a computer system was all about, I was astounded by its capability. My enthusiasm for technology grew. The internet soon started to function, and I was quite interested in how it did so. I was particularly interested in how we could communicate with someone who lived a long way away and how, with the aid of the program, we could address a variety of global issues.

When I was a young adolescent, I can recall sneaking my father's phone out in the middle of the night when everyone else was asleep to explore the internet and learn how it functions, using sites like Facebook, 2go, Eskimi, WapTrick, WapDam, etc.

After some time, I began to hear the term "Dark Web" from spy and intelligence movies, and when reality started to materialize, my interest in technology grew. I chose to change careers and majored in the sciences in high school as a result of this interest. My interest in engineering fired on throughout my high school years as I fell in love with math and physics. I spent a lot of time in the school library reading scientific books. My best buddy and I used to lock ourselves in the library for the entire day simply to study biographies of famous scientists like Leonardo da Vinci, Isaac Newton, and Nicholas Tesla. I've read about outstanding men like Steve Jobs, Berners Lee, and Mark Zuckerberg, also want to be like them. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Ž

The Transformation

transformamtion.jpg

When I learned that the university had awarded me admission to study Mechatronics Engineering, I was overjoyed. My technical career began when I joined the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) student section as soon as I arrived at school.

I at last experienced the world through the lens of problem-solving, which has always been my desire. My passion developed as we attended meetings and events, and I was able to make a small difference in the world. For drones and other complicated electrical systems, we started building certain electrical circuits.

surprised.jfif

Later, the Arduino system was presented to us, which required us to develop programs. And that was the first time I realized I could use this to make anything. I immediately acquired a computer and began programming. I was having such a great time developing apps that could control hardware and execute commands. I began creating numerous programming languages on my own. I enjoyed seeing things operate according to plan, using clever systems and automating processes.

The combination of diversity and expertise being shared on numerous platforms was something else that particularly caught my attention. I've always wanted to see the entire world. I've now come to understand that I can travel anywhere on the globe without leaving the comfort of my bedroom.

Now I am very happy that I'm contributing my own quota to making the world a better place.๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€

tech.jpg

Thank you for reading.

NB: This article was published as my #week1 article for the Hashnode #4articles4weeks Writeathon.

Follow me on Hashnode, Twitter and LinkedIn

ย